Six members of the banned National Liberation Front of Tripura (NLFT) surrendered to security forces in Tripura on Friday, February 9th, 2024, depositing arms and ammunition including Chinese rifles. This development marks a significant step towards peace in the region, with 36 active NLFT members now having surrendered to authorities since 2022.

The surrendered militants, identified as Jatindra Tripura, Mokhiram Tripura, Pradip Tripura, Romawia Reang, Johanjoy Reang, and Mani Charan Tripura, were previously active across the border in Bangladesh. They joined the NLFT outfit between 2017 and 2022.

“It will surely further pave the way for remaining fractions of NLFT to make a beeline for peace abjuring violence,” stated an official release. “It is a committed effort by Tripura Police for ensuring the goal of law and order and development.”

This surrender comes amidst ongoing efforts by the Tripura Police and security forces to combat insurgency in the region. The NLFT, designated as a terrorist organization by the Indian government, has been fighting for an independent Tripura state since the 1980s.

The surrender of these six militants is seen as a positive development, potentially encouraging other members of the NLFT to follow suit and embrace peace. It also highlights the effectiveness of ongoing counter-insurgency operations in Tripura.