SOURCE: Telangana Today

Advancements in technologies like propulsion, electronics, structures and payloads were enabling significant reduction in the size, cost, and weight of satellites, said G Satheesh Reddy, Secretary, Department of Defence R&D, and DRDO chairman.

Speaking at the inaugural of a three-day International Conference on Small Satellites and Systems (ICSS) organised by the Society for Small Satellites and Systems (SSSS) in association with the Sensors Research Society (SRS) and Research Centre Imarat (RCI) here on Thursday, Dr. Reddy described small satellites as a disruptive technology for space industries.

“The modest facilities needed to design and build small satellites boosted innovative startups. Small satellites will bring in a new revolution in the world and network of space-borne sensors will lead us towards Internet of Satellites in future,” he said. Small satellite driven missions have changed the approach towards Earth Observation and the Space Wide Web will pave the way for Internet of Space Things (IoSTs), he pointed out.

“We need to explore technical issues, development considerations, emerging opportunities and address quality, reliability issues and if we are not conscious, small satellites revolution will only remain as single shot opportunities and add up to space debris as well,” Dr. Reddy added.

In his address, Satish Chandra Jha, chairman, National Technical Research Organisation (NTRO), said the small satellites were playing an important role in space applications. “They are faster to build, cost effective and better packaged due to use of latest technologies,” he said.

For significant contributions to Indian Defence and Aerospace, Dr Reddy was conferred with the Honorary Fellowship of Sensors Research Society at the event which was also attended by PS Goel, ISRO Honorary Professor, Avinash Chander, president, Sensors Research Society, Koteshwara Rao, president, Society for Small Satellites and Systems, MSR Prasad, director general, Missiles and Strategic Systems, BHVS Narayana Murthy, director, RCI and others, a press release said.

Dr PS Goel and Dr Raja Ramanna chair professor, NIAS and former Secretary, Ministry of Earth Sciences, were conferred with the Lifetime Achievement Awards, the release added.