On Saturday, the Indian Space Research Organization (Isro) will conduct the final Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) launch of the year from the Satish Dhawan Space Centre in Sriharikota. The Earth Observation Satellite-03 (EOS-03), also known as Oceansat-3, will be carried aboard the launch.

Along with the Oceansat-3, the launch vehicle will carry eight nanosatellites, one of which was developed jointly by India and Bhutan. The satellite will be launched into Sun Synchronous Orbit, marking the Indian space agency’s fifth launch of the year.

India and Bhutan signed a joint development agreement for the satellite in September 2021, following Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s visit to Thimphu in 2019.