Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Rajiv Kumar has stated that elections in Jammu and Kashmir will be held after the security, weather, and poll schedule of the other polling states have been considered.

In New Delhi, he was giving a press conference. Kumar stated that the delimitation exercise in the union territory has been completed, as well as the fixing and rearranging of polling stations, the appointment of Ros and AEROs, and the rest of the formalities.

Last year, the delimitation process in J&K was completed. The Delimitation Commission, chaired by Justice Ranjana Prakash Desai (a retired Judge of the Supreme Court of India), and Ex-Officio members Sh. Sushil Chandra (Chief Election Commissioner) and Sh. K. K. Sharma (State Election Commissioner, Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir), finalised the Delimitation Order for the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir.